View Single Post
(#10 (permalink))
Old
anrakushi (Offline)
草上之风必偃

04-17-2008, 09:23 AM

To be honest, i found the teaching of kanji at the university i studied at in Japan to be not very productive. although all the material we were learning with was written with kanji we had furigana on top of that to make it easy to read.

i know about 600 kanji so far and about 2500 compounds to go with those kanji.. I have learnt these since october last year. i'm still learn 5 each day with new compounds. I'm completely self taught on the kanji front.

because of my love of learning kanji i find it pretty difficult to read japanese without it, as MMM mentioned, reading something written entirely in kana is a pain.

mind you before i started really learning kanji i already knew probably 100 or so of them visually but not able to remember how to write them so i wasn't completely new to kanji when i started getting stuck into them.

I have said many times on this forum how i learnt kanji and it is surprisingly not so different to how japanese learn themselves, repetition, repetition, repetition.

Tips:
learn the radicals - they are what make up the kanji eg 月 is a radical in 服 (you can see it on the left there) knowing these radicals makes it easier to remember how to write the character and they are mostly a guide to pronunciation (beyond being pictorial representations, this was their use in creating the characters in Chinese and thus has a flow on effect to Japanese).
work from either the same order as taught in Japan or go with the order in the Japanese Language Proficiency Tests, i went with the latter.