View Single Post
(#2 (permalink))
Old
wasabijuice (Offline)
JF Regular

05-27-2009, 03:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACW View Post
Hi, this is my first post on the "Japan Forum" so I thank you for your time and patience. I'm in my third year of college and I am planning on teaching English in Japan after I graduate. For the previous three semesters I have been learning Japanese in class and in my free time. I've been mostly practicing grammar a lot and learning a little Kanji. Up to 200 so far I believe. Anyways my first question would be am I on the right track concerning the Japanese language? Should I keep studying now or wait till I go to Japan? I only ask this because learning another language in your native country can be quite hard.
Learning now certainly won't hurt. But if you've got a decent level now you can relax a little, and work on saving more money if you want, it may help in the long run.

Quote:
Next I've been saving money for Japan so I can rent an apartment, pay for key money, etc. whenever I go. I was wondering what a single room apartment with a western toilet, washing machine, and bath would cost. I lived in a apartment in Niigata but I did not have to pay for it since it was provided by the university I was attending. I have no idea on the expenses
Thats tough, but I would assume 4man/month, after your settled, you can look around more. Try and get your work to cover the key money etc. this way you can move out if you want to.

I never was an ALT but I think they've got it made, 80% of the time.
Never worked for a big Geos type either, but those teachers really bust their arse working,(as opposed to most ALT, sorrry) and I respect that.

I think you'd learn more about teaching from a small school in the sticks, with one or a few teachers. Any owner run school is going care about training you properly, more than worrying about the bottom line.

Quote: