View Single Post
(#224 (permalink))
Old
Sangetsu (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

09-18-2009, 09:39 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jron View Post
This is an awesome thread. Thanks! I got much information and many useful links off of it.

So I have a question about my personal case. I live in the US now but I am thinking about a change of like. I've been studying Japanese for 2 years now and I've been thinking of living there for a couple of years. I have been looking at IT jobs but was also wondering about the possibility of some kind of teaching position.

I am 51 years old and have a BA in Computer Science and 25 years working experience in the field of Software Engineering.

So some questions might be..
1. Will they even accept someone my age?
2. Would there be any specialty programs such as technical English (not sure what to call it). Or even directly teaching computer classes in English...

I know teaching won't pay near what I can make doing IT work but I am kinda sick of hard IT and could use a break from it for a while.

Thanks,
john
Your age is kind of a sticky issue. Age discrimination is not legal in most places, but it occurs in Japan. Once people get into a company here, they tend to stick with it. Those who leave their jobs in their 40's or 50's often find it impossible to get a similar job. Most end up in the service industries. English teaching is more flexible in this regard, mainly because the demand for teachers remains pretty strong.

There are IT jobs available in Japan, but many company's IT departments now tend to hire foreign workers from dispatch-type agencies, and the techs are typically from India.

There are a couple of requirements to getting a job in Japan.

The first is a 4 years or higher degree, which you have.

The second thing is a company which is willing to hire you and sponsor you.