View Single Post
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Iffy (Offline)
New to JF

What's the best way to learn Japanese? - 10-29-2009, 03:14 AM

Hello all. Brand new here. Haven't even looked around yet, but I will over the next couple of days. I have a pressing question, and I'd like to get it out of the way ASAP.

I took some Japanese in junior and senior year in high school, and I'm currently studying second-year Japanese in community college. I hope to transfer to the university in a year or two, but if it takes me two years to get there (which is likely), I will probably have to wait a whole year before I can take third year, since the university offers it, but my community college doesn't. After I'm done with second year here, I'll be all by myself for a year. I'm already worrying about that.

What I would love to know is: what's the best way to study/learn/practice Japanese if you're not taking any classes?

1. I've heard about the Heisig method (I've already bought the book and looked it over), where you're supposed to learn the kanji first, then learn vocab through kanji, and focus on learning to read first before you worry about conversation. Now, I've learned a little conversation in my first year, but I still can't really talk about anything unless the conversation exactly follows the textbook, so this is already playing to my weaknesses. I've been studying some extra kanji in my free time (I've learned about 300, while my classmates have learned maybe 120 by now), but it's rather dry and difficult to study just kanji alone. The Heisig method requires that you learn all 2000 Kyoiku and Joyo kanji BEFORE you do anything else. That seems REALLY tough, but I've read all about it on AJATT (Khatzimoto makes a really convincing argument, but he also seems REALLY hardcore about it).