(#10 (permalink))
Old
TalnSG (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

Send a message via ICQ to TalnSG
12-29-2009, 03:10 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiyuu View Post
Hi! I'm new to JF, obviously...But I decided to join, and this shall be my first question to you, er, veterans out there.

^-^;

I'm fourteen now, and I am thinking of working my way into the Lolita fashion by the time I'm sixteen. Would that be a good time to start, or is it too early...?
And, as I was contemplating my decisions, I started thinking: is there an age when one should stop being involved in the lolita lifestyle/fashion? I imagine that there aren't 50-year old lolita men/women bouncing around.

So, is there an age cap? Thirty? Fourty? Just curious, is all~
14 seems like a good time for experimentation. It not like you have a career to worry about yet or a fiance/husband to judge you. Parents are often afflicted by the choices in attire of their teenage offspring, so that's a given.

And working your way into a style, whether for fun or some sort of personal statement is a good way to manage the expenditures, and more importantly adapt the style to your own specific personality and preferences. Being a total copy of something in a picture is less creative and expressive than assembling a look piece by piece as you find what you like.