View Single Post
(#13 (permalink))
Old
YuriTokoro (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

07-07-2010, 06:29 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarvodaya View Post
Kawasaki, I see that's near the Tama Hills, where "Pom Poko" was set if I'm not mistaken! (I'm a bit of a Studio Ghibli fan.)
こんにちは。

Yes, you are right. Tama city is next to Kawasaki, and “Pom Poko” was set there.
Many people love Studio Ghibli here, too. Then, one of your goals can be to watch their films in Japanese language.
スタジオジブリ - STUDIO GHIBLI
This is their site in Japanese. Why don’t you try to read that!?

Quote:
I studied Kamishin Ryu under Sensei Phil Snewin.
I studied 上新 流 under 先生 フィル Snewin.

Is that right? Is there a way to transliterate "Snewin"?
It’s スヌーイン.
You should call him スヌーイン先生 or フィル・スヌーイン先生.

In Japanese language, a title comes after a name.

Quote:
I must say your English is quite excellent, Yuri.
Thank you!

Quote:
I will be teaching myself Japanese. That is how I learned the patchy bit of Russian I know, but I would rather be more thorough with Japanese, especially as I very much want to visit Japan one day. I am really at the beginning and still becoming familiar with the kana. I have been working my way through this website:

Teach Yourself Japanese
This site seems to be really good.
Do you have any ways to listen to the pronunciation?

This site may help you.
Japanese Language Education System for Speech on an On-demand Network (LESSON/J)

http://sp.cis.iwate-u.ac.jp/sp/lesson/j/indexj.html

Quote: