JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Shiningmonkey (Offline)
Inventor of the s'moredog

Mangaka Salary - 02-22-2008, 05:58 PM

I am an aspiring manga artist and I was wondering what kind of salary a mangaka makes. Does anyone know? Thanks.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
chibiloli93 (Offline)
Zero Luver!

02-22-2008, 06:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiningmonkey View Post
I am an aspiring manga artist and I was wondering what kind of salary a mangaka makes. Does anyone know? Thanks.
Um...i got this off a website... im guessing it goes dis way:
1. Manga-ka doesn't get paid salary. They get paid for whatever they sold.

Every place plays favorites -____-

http://xxbullet-proofxx.deviantart.com/
(#3 (permalink))
Old
typing (Offline)
JF Regular

02-22-2008, 06:12 PM

Not much.

The average Manga Ka looks at roughly 8-10 hour days, sometimes more, sometimes less. Generally they have a 20-40 page submission to fulfill every month so you're looking at one compleated page every day, not including the time it takes to write the story, if the editor doesn't like it you having to re-do it, and extra art like cover art or graphic books.

You don't get an hourly rate but a contract based partially on sales, the average contract is usually for a beginner 500$ per 20 pg's + 10-15% royalties.

Which assuming it takes 5 hours per page about 5$ per hour.

And that's if you don't hire assistants. If you do then their cut comes out of your salery. And you do pay them an hourly rate, not a by contract.

The Manga-ka life is not one that you take if you want to get rich, One of my students makes a soccer manga, he's really poor and is learning english because he want's to make it big in America.

I have great faith in fools -- self confidence my friends call it. -- Edgar Allan Poe
(#4 (permalink))
Old
ELASHORTHYP (Offline)
New to JF

02-22-2008, 06:17 PM