Old
Nikko (Offline)
yay!

Send a message via MSN to Nikko
07-24-2008, 08:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by clairebear View Post
Lol, its not just England you know, UK in general
Well I'm from the UK, and if I was learning English I'd probably choose British English.
lol thats what I meant to say but I put england cos I was thinking english
...so majority of people here learn in american english... I passed my english gcse but if I took an american english exam I probably wouldn't do so well.
I guess it does depend on the teacher you have...but it does make it more difficult for the people learning english...I think... anybody here who teaches english as a foreign language??

私はただ学んでいます - I'm only learning
(#12 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

07-24-2008, 09:21 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul11 View Post
Sometimes it's the luck of the draw - it depends where your teacher is from. Mid-west American English is in vogue now.
Really? Where?
(#13 (permalink))
Old
Dmnhntr (Offline)
New to JF

07-25-2008, 02:17 PM

Here in America we speak American-English. But there are different variations of American-English like if you are from the south, like South Carolina, you will sound alot different and pronounce things different, than say someone from Ohio. The accent varies depending on what part of the country you live in.

"Save Sorrow For The Souls In Doubt"
(#14 (permalink))
Old
Kitten160 (Offline)
New to JF

Send a message via AIM to Kitten160
07-25-2008, 02:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmnhntr View Post
Here in America we speak American-English. But there are different variations of American-English like if you are from the south, like South Carolina, you will sound alot different and pronounce things different, than say someone from Ohio. The accent varies depending on what part of the country you live in.
That is oh so true. I'm from New York City and when I visit my cousins in Texas they say I talk weird. Lol.