JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
opalac (Offline)
New to JF

Help!!!!!! - 10-11-2009, 01:59 PM

Can somebody translate this in english, please?!
"Ashita mo shinjiteitaiya"
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Mortry (Offline)
JF Old Timer

10-11-2009, 06:34 PM

No, can't help you, I'm a noob in Japanese myself...
But I think it says something with
tomorrow (ashita)
too (mo)
die (shinjiteitaiya)

I know tomorrow & too 4 sure, but I can't really translate that 'shinjiteitaiya'...
You'll just have to wait 'till someone who is good in japanese replies
(#3 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

10-11-2009, 06:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by opalac View Post
Can somebody translate this in english, please?!
"Ashita mo shinjiteitaiya"
I want to believe tomorrow, too.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
duo797 (Offline)
異議あり!

Send a message via AIM to duo797
10-11-2009, 06:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mortry View Post
No, can't help you, I'm a noob in Japanese myself...
But I think it says something with
tomorrow (ashita)
too (mo)
die (shinjiteitaiya)

I know tomorrow & too 4 sure, but I can't really translate that 'shinjiteitaiya'...
You'll just have to wait 'till someone who is good in japanese replies
This explanation is for you, just cause I'm trying to put off doing real work . The verb for 'die' is 死ぬ(しぬ) shinu. What you've got there is 信じる(しんじる)shinjiru, to believe. To help you understand how it's conjugated, I'll break it up into parts. 信じる here is in it's ーて form. In this case, the verb was conjugated as ーている. ーている was then conjugated with the ~たい verb ending which means to want the action or want to perform the action.
Example: 行く(いく)iku (Go/to go) 行きたい(いきたい)ikitai (Want to go).