JapanForum.com

JapanForum.com (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/)
-   English & Other Language Help (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/english-other-language-help/)
-   -   help..english language (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/english-other-language-help/31906-help-english-language.html)

takahara24 05-11-2010 09:18 AM

help..english language

my homework :(

write an informative essay on one of the computer system types choose.(Physical,Abstract,Open,Closed)

Matterwave 05-11-2010 10:19 AM

Do you have an essay for editing, or do you need help just writing the essay? Even though I know English pretty well, I have very little knowledge of computing...hehe

West 05-18-2010 01:03 AM

I'm not too sure what you mean by Physical,Abstract,Open,Closed.

Matterwave 05-18-2010 01:14 AM

Well I think that a physical computer is one that you would use. An abstract computer is like something that technically computes but wouldn't be usually considered a computer (e.g. a roll of tape on which you can write consecutive bits, or a bunch of stones arranged to store information). An open computer would be one which is connected to the internet or another machine. A closed computer would be one which is not connected to anything else.

This would be my guess at what those 4 types are...but I'm not sure either...

West 05-18-2010 01:26 AM

That wouldn't make sense.
I suggest asking your instructor for a clear definition of what he or she expects those forms of computers. When you get an answer, we can go from there.

NanteNa 12-08-2010 09:48 PM

So an abstract computer may as well be the human brain or?

Decimus 12-09-2010 10:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by takahara24 (Post 811670)
my homework :(

write an informative essay on one of the computer system types choose.(Physical,Abstract,Open,Closed)

This is not an English question. This is an IT/CS question instead.

Now, judging from what I'd remembered from my CS (Computer Science) classes...