JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Chiquita (Offline)
New to JF

Send a message via MSN to Chiquita
Wink Learning Korean ( Hangul ) - 11-18-2010, 02:45 PM

I have been learning recently Korean language, which I find it quite enjoyable. All my friends come from different parts of asia; nepal, china and malayssia, and because of them I became so addicted to learn an asian language *-*
Next year Im going university to do a degree level in Modern language ( im fluent in portugues, spanish and english) ; but now just for fun im learning hangul, i wont lie it is quite hard to put 2gether the words. Specially that this is my first time learning asian writing and the teacher is just amazing tutor.

Tell me your experience in learning a new language!!
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Decimus (Offline)
JF Old Timer

11-18-2010, 06:28 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiquita View Post
I have been learning recently Korean language, which I find it quite enjoyable. All my friends come from different parts of asia; nepal, china and malayssia, and because of them I became so addicted to learn an asian language *-*
Next year Im going university to do a degree level in Modern language ( im fluent in portugues, spanish and english) ; but now just for fun im learning hangul, i wont lie it is quite hard to put 2gether the words. Specially that this is my first time learning asian writing and the teacher is just amazing tutor.

Tell me your experience in learning a new language!!
This thread is off-topic and should belong here instead.

I would also like to point out that Korean also uses small amounts of Hanja, so writing Korean (Hangul) is sort of like writing Japanese (Hiragana). With emphasis on "sort of".

Now, to get back to your question...

When I was learning Japanese, my Chinese background helped me identify kanji easier. That said, they were some false friends like 「大家」 ("大家" means "everyone" in Chinese), and 「邪魔」. (looks suspiciously close to "恶魔")