JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
mastroiani (Offline)
New to JF

Cool Help a filmmaker from New York - 06-25-2009, 03:44 PM

Hi, I'm a filmmaker from New York and I'm interested if someone could help me in understanding what do people feel/think (young and old, but more specifically younger generation) about US occupation in Japan and then US military presence in Japan. Are Japanese offended? Do they feel embarrassed or need for revenge? Or maybe they don't care at all?

I'm working on a script for a film and I would like to know from Japanese themselves their sentiment so as not to be partial and try to depict as truthful as possible these feelings in the film.

I'd also be interested in collaborating with a talented Japanese writer or someone who wants to write for film.

I really appreciate your help and thoughts.

Thank you

Last edited by mastroiani : 06-25-2009 at 03:52 PM.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
bELyVIS (Offline)
JF Old Timer

06-25-2009, 04:55 PM

I think most Japanese don't think too much about it except maybe the older ones who remember. I do know that I, and most foreigners who looked American, felt really uncomfortable in August because that was when they showed the "A Bomb documentary fest" on TV. I got really strange looks and stares that month.
As for the military now, Okinawa hates the US being there because of the troubles the soldiers an sailors cause. Rape is the big one I heard about. But my wife, she's Japanese, believes that some of these girls are trying to get back at these guys for dumping them. Whatever the truth is, it causes hard feelings there.
Good luck on your film.

The World's only Belly Dancing Elvis Impersonator!
(#3 (permalink))
Old
mastroiani (Offline)
New to JF

06-25-2009, 07:22 PM

Hi, thank you. I guess the occupation itself maybe forgotten by the younger generation, but the US military presence sort of looms over nevertheless. It's very interesting.