JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
smug (Offline)
New to JF

Best University to Study Japanese? - 12-21-2009, 04:58 AM

Hello, I'm from north-west Texas and am going to have to try and get into a university in about a year. I'm not sure what I really want to do yet but want to study Japanese, do you guys know of any decent universities that offer Japanese classes in Texas? I've been told to study Japanese in Japan but that doesn't sound very realistic as I'm a broke high school student that can't find a job.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Nagoyankee (Offline)
中庸を得るのだ~

12-21-2009, 05:10 AM

Being born, raised and educated half the world away from Texas, I wouldn't have the slightest idea. I will, however, ask a good Texan who is a regular in the Language Section to respond to you.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
SSJup81 (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

Send a message via ICQ to SSJup81 Send a message via AIM to SSJup81 Send a message via MSN to SSJup81 Send a message via Yahoo to SSJup81 Send a message via Skype™ to SSJup81
12-21-2009, 05:11 AM

You could start applying for grants early and scholarships.

That aside, it may be expensive, but have you considered going to an out of state university?
(#4 (permalink))
Old
smug (Offline)
New to JF

12-21-2009, 05:23 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by SSJup81 View Post
You could start applying for grants early and scholarships.

That aside, it may be expensive, but have you considered going to an out of state university?
I've considered it and will leave if I must, although I'd be nice to find a place here.
(#5 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

12-21-2009, 05:45 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by smug View Post
I've considered it and will leave if I must, although I'd be nice to find a place here.
Although studying in Japan would make sense after a couple years of Japanese study, you can certainly lay the foundations for Japanese fluency in a university program in Texas.