JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Malicomatt (Offline)
New to JF

MA in TESL - 02-05-2010, 05:56 PM

Hello,
I'm currently a college student in America. I will get my Bachelors in Linguistics soon with a certificate in TESL. I spent about a year in Japan learning the language (Japanese is my focus language for Linguistics) and I can speak somewhere in between the JLPT level 2 and 3 with my kanji at about level 2. My question is, how much more money do you think I can make in the long run if I got my Masters in TESL? I want to pretty much live in Japan for the rest of my life because of the awesome experience I had when I went to that immersion school for a year. My final goal is to become an interpreter in Japan, but if that didn't work out, I could just teach English and I would be happy in that. Does anyone know the answer to this, or know how I could find out?
Thanks
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Tsuwabuki (Offline)
石路 美蔓

02-06-2010, 06:26 AM

With that, you're looking at an income range of ¥300,000/mo to ¥450,000/mo given you can find a full time private high school or university position. I recommend you make sure to get publications while working on your master's, and since you're in the states, I would recommend taking your Praxis and gaining Teacher's Certification in your state. This will require student teaching, and may take up to three months if you do it after you graduate with your BA. It would have been better if you had done it concurrently with your BA, but I am sure your state has an alternative certification program.

<- AnimeMusicVideos.Org
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Malicomatt (Offline)
New to JF

02-06-2010, 05:42 PM

Really? I didn't think that a teaching credential here in California would do anything in Japan. I thought just having a Masters would satisfy requirements in Japan. Do you think that going for the Masters is worth it? Do you think just a BA in linguistics and the TEFL Cert would be just as good?
(#4 (permalink))
Old