JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Brass (Offline)
JF Regular

How hard is it to get a job in Japan as a 外人 - 12-13-2010, 11:02 PM

Do they throw away your app as soon as they see a foreign name? I'm talking about high level BS+ jobs. I'm a electrical engineer with years of experience and projects.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
RealJames (Offline)
ボケ外人

12-14-2010, 01:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brass View Post
Do they throw away your app as soon as they see a foreign name? I'm talking about high level BS+ jobs. I'm a electrical engineer with years of experience and projects.
I came here as a computer scientist, foreigner or not has very little impact in the tech sector, it depends much much more on your qualifications and how much Japanese you speak.

I spoke none, was offered two jobs in the first week, declined them when I saw the work hours, then started teaching English (which was easier for finding jobs lol).

If you speak Japanese well enough then no worries at all!

マンツーマン 英会話 神戸 三宮 リアライズ -James- This is my life and why I know things about Japan.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
RickOShay (Offline)
JF Old Timer

12-14-2010, 09:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by RealJames View Post
I came here as a computer scientist, foreigner or not has very little impact in the tech sector, it depends much much more on your qualifications and how much Japanese you speak.

I spoke none, was offered two jobs in the first week, declined them when I saw the work hours, then started teaching English (which was easier for finding jobs lol).