Old
KIZILTiLKi (Offline)
JF Regular

Send a message via MSN to KIZILTiLKi
I Wondering Japanese Names and meanings - 02-12-2012, 09:17 AM

Hi Friends

I Wondering Japanese Names and meanings

You can ask me " Why ? "

Because I am Turk. The most important thing for the Turks is the names. In fact, even more important than life.

Some Dominant Names are directs our lives.

For the example : My name ise Erdinç. It does mean : healthy private soldier.

All my life I was curious weapons and soldiers. I gathered my courage and I was 23 when I joined the army. Now I am 26 years old and I am still a soldier

So I am wondering Japanese names and meanings, What is the effect of personel life? Can you write in alphabetical order?

And I wonder has a name, especially - Yuriko

Thanks in advance

HEY YAVRUM HEY ! SONUNDA JAPONLARLA DA KONUŞTUK YA HELAL OLSUN A.Q. !!!
(#2 (permalink))
Old
inveniam (Offline)
New to JF

02-16-2012, 04:35 AM

Hi,
Japanese names do have their meanings clearly, as each kanji has its meanings.
And generally speaking, the meaning of one's name are considered to be very important : every father and mother wants to give their child a good name.
The fact that words and letters have been considered to have special powers may have something to do with this.
But I think the effect of the name on one's life is less direct in Japanese culture than yours. For example, 健 (ken) is a popular name. 健 means "healthy" or something like that. Our prime minister's name is 佳彦 (yoshi-hiko), and 佳 roughly means "good" (佳作, for instance, means "a good piece of work"--rarely used in names, btw). 賢 (this,too, happens to be "ken") is also a common name, and it means "clever", "intelligent", "wise", something like that. Each name reflects their parent's wishes : they wish their child, or his/her life to be a healthy, good, or intelligent one.