JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
jocmueller (Offline)
New to JF

Cool Going to Tokyo May 28-June 5 - 05-20-2008, 07:12 AM

Hi All,

I am new to this Board and this is my first post. I am from Germany, 34 years old, and had a Japanese girlfriend when I studied Business and Economics in California until 1999. I made it throughout whole Asia until now (Hong Kong, Indonesia, China, Singapore, Malaysia, Taiwan, Thailand ...) but never to Japan.

A friend of mine married a Japanese Girl (she lives in Germany and works there for Lufthansa for 7 years now), they married the German way in February. Now it's time for the "Shinto-Marriage" (hope this is the right term) and they invited to Tokyo. We will be around 50 People there from Germany and aroung 80 People from japan, so I hope nobody will get or be lost.

My experiences until now according flights and accomodation:

Flights:

I will go there with Lufthansa, non-stop-flight from Frankfurt. Price for the Ticket roundtrip was EUR 935 (approx. 1.450 US-$), but it is a open-jaw-flight (Gabelflug/dog-leg-flight/multy-city-flight, how ever you call this at your place) which goes back to Zurich (Switzerland, where my parents live) with Swiss Intl. Airlines and not to Frankfurt so it is a bit more expensive than a normal flight. KLM is - as I found out - the cheapest airline with flights for approx. EUR 620 (970 US-$) roundtrip in that period (but you lose time in Amsterdam). So for the people flying form Europe, KLM might be a good choice. British Airways is priced in the middle, but I do not like to fly 2 hours to London and then fly the whole distance back on my way to Japan. I like nonstop-flights as I do not lose too much time on travelling.

Accomodation: