JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Glisters (Offline)
New to JF

Japan in August - 06-09-2008, 12:31 PM

I will be spending two weeks between Tokyo and Kyoto in August of this year; by all accounts the weather will be extremely hot and humid, what sort of temperatures am I looking at?

Will there be a lot of direct, unfiltered sunlight or are the summers more of the overcast and humid type? I am blonde and have very fair skin, what factor sun cream do I need to be using?

And, the most important question of the lot, what kinds of clothes do I need to be packing, is it okay to wear jeans or will I expire of heatstroke if I do?

Apologies for the amount of questions and thank you in advance for any replies.

G.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
godwine (Offline)
自爆十秒前

06-09-2008, 12:41 PM

August is hot and humid, and there will be quite a bit or rain. Sun will definitely be DIRECT, I am not an expert in sunblock since I don't use them, so I won't be able to tell you.

Jeans should be fine. The average temperature for August is in (in celcius) the high 20s to the low 30s,
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Nagoyankee (Offline)
中庸を得るのだ~

06-09-2008, 01:22 PM

By all means bring or buy in Japan a good sun screen designed to block UV. UV blocking is the key here in Japan, more so than fighting the tempreture and humidity. Bring sunglasses, too. Drink lots of water or sport drink which are readily available from both convenience stores and vending machines on the street.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
yumeau (Offline)
JF Regular

06-09-2008, 02:20 PM

I always use a sun cream SPF 50 PA+++. And many Japanese girls use a sunshade as well. Perhaps it may sound old-fashioned, but don’t hesitate. It’s not out here.
There are various cute sunshades, also folding ones, which you can find around 1500 yen.
I suppose jeans will be fine, I myself wear jeans also in mid-summer actually, but it depends on what you're planning to do.