JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Pheonix1337 (Offline)
New to JF

study abroad - 10-08-2008, 07:13 PM

I am going to study abroad in Japan starting in january, most likely in Kyoto. It is required that I set up my own housing. Does anyone have any ideas as to where I should look for an affordable place? Obviously as a college student I cant afford to stay in a hotel for 3 to 6 months, so if anyone has any ideas Id greatly appreciate it.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

10-08-2008, 08:20 PM

What school are you going to? How do they expect you to find your own housing?
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Pheonix1337 (Offline)
New to JF

10-10-2008, 03:16 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMM View Post
What school are you going to? How do they expect you to find your own housing?
I attend the Ohio State University, I am going to the office of international affairs to get all the details, but the packet i have states that the cost is tuition plus $500 per quarter, and i am responsible for travel expenses and setting up my own living situation, since dorms in Japan are so competitive.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

10-10-2008, 03:27 AM

I would talk seriously to International Affairs office because I think it is insane to expect you to be able to find housing on your own without at least some hints from your host university.
(#5 (permalink))
Old
Pheonix1337 (Offline)
New to JF

10-10-2008, 03:46 AM

I feel the same way as well. Hopefully it is just a "generalized" thing in the packet and not the actual way of things. I dont know how a student could travel abroad if they have no clue what is abroad...that is the purpose of going after all, in my mind, to learn what is there.
(#6 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

10-10-2008, 03:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pheonix1337 View Post