JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
shinobioni (Offline)
New to JF

Question About re-entry - 02-26-2009, 03:42 AM

So I am currently studying in Japan on a multiple re-entry visa. I am planning on going to South Korea for vacation during Spring Break. Before I leave, do I need to let the Japanese government know that I am leaving and that I will be returning, do I need to get my passport stamped or anything? someone explain and help ME! ive got like two weeks only to do this.

Thanks
-Matt
(#2 (permalink))
Old
alanX (Offline)
The Psychedelic Traveler

Send a message via Skype™ to alanX
02-26-2009, 04:01 AM

What country did you come from? America doesn't have the re-entry visa=[[[[

Yes, immigration will stamp it and when you re-enter they'll just look at it and you'll be on your way. I think I remember reading this somewhere, I didn't pay it much attention though. But there IS something you have to do with immigration though.

猿も木から落ちる
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Nyororin (Offline)
Mod Extraordinaire

Send a message via MSN to Nyororin Send a message via Yahoo to Nyororin
02-26-2009, 04:19 AM

If you already paid for multiple re-entry, then there is nothing more you need to do.
If you just have a long term visa without re-entry, however, you will have to go to the local immigration bureau to pay them for a little stamp that says your visa will not expire when you leave the country.

By the way, coming from America you can indeed get a multiple entry visa. It`s an option on the Japanese side, and as far as I know has nothing to do with where you`re from.

If anyone is trying to find me… Tamyuun on Instagram is probably the easiest.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
Sanchome (Offline)
JF Old Timer

02-26-2009, 04:19 AM