JapanForum.com

JapanForum.com (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/)
-   Japan Travel Advice (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/japan-travel-advice/)
-   -   Accommodation (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/japan-travel-advice/24546-accommodation.html)

Koula 04-17-2009 01:50 PM

Accommodation

Hi everybody, I am new to this:ywave: Just wanting to know if anyone can help me out - I am looking for accommodation in Tokyo for myself and my husband for 6 nights (16th May - 22nd May). Any ideas? Anyone know of someone who might like to put us up for 6 nights and we can pay them accommodation rather than staying in a hotel - I feel we would get a better feel of the Japanese culture?? Any suggestions?:confused:

talz13 04-17-2009 07:24 PM

I would suggest staying at a ryokan if you can. I stayed at a couple of those last year and they were great:

Ryokan Kangetsu: RYOKAN KANGETSU-Tokyo Budget Hotel-Economy Accommodation Cheap Inn Japan booking,
Homeikan: http://www.homeikan.com/en/en_welcome.html

Those are both in the Tokyo area for a couple examples (not a very long trip to get anywhere around Tokyo anyways).

Sangetsu 04-18-2009 01:24 AM

If you plan to stay in someone's home, you'll probably find that the most noticeable cultural difference between you and your hosts will be your language. You'll probably find the rest to be no so different from your own country.