JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
sydneyswans (Offline)
New to JF

advice on the best use of a Japan Rail Pass - 06-04-2009, 06:27 AM

Hi there
I will be in Japan for 16 days in mid July - early august.

Im new to Japan and would really appreciate anybodys comments

I was hoping to get some advice on the best way to use a Japan Rail Pass for what i need.

The trip is as follows:

Saturday, 18 July – Arrive Osaka
Sunday 19 July – 1/2 day on osaka - in afternoon, leave for Koyasan;
Monday, 20 July – koyasan
Tuesday 21 July – leave koyasan in afternoon for Kyoto
Wednesday 22 July – Kyoto
Thursday 23 July – Leave Kyoto for Mt Fuiji – Fujinomiya 5th Station, ready for early morning start
Friday 24 July – early morning ascent of Mt Fuiji, then spend day resting and onsen
Saturday 25 July – leave for Tokyo early – see team mates - Yoyo, shizu, kengo etc
Sunday 26 July – Tokyo
Monday - 27 July – Train to Kagawa, Shikoku
Tuesday - 28 July – Shikoku
Wednesday - 29 July – Shikoku
Thursday - 30 July – Shikoku
Friday - 31 July – Shikoku
Saturday - 1 August – Shikoku
Sunday - 2 August – Shikoku
Monday - 3 August – leave Shikoku in afternoon for Osaka – fly out 8.55pm

So my questions are as follows:

1) For the amount of travelling i will be doing, is it worth getting a Japan Rail Pass. My investigations suggest yes - Buying individual tickets seems expensive - Do you agree ?

2) I understand once you start a 7 day or 14 day pass you cannot stop it (say at Day 3, freeze it, and then start Day 4 later in trip). Is that right ?
Ive looked at the option of buying 2, 7 day passes but it doesnt work with my timetable due to the length of time i spend in Shikoku - which i cannot change.

3) I understand green and ordinary JPR can use Shinkasen (just not nozomi). Is that right ?