JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Chikavelli (Offline)
New to JF

Exclamation Need suggestions for good hostels in Tokyo! - 01-21-2010, 04:05 AM

Hi there! Has anyone had any experience in dealing with hostels in Downtown Tokyo? Of course lower price and convenience would be a great thing to have. I'm able to even go mid ground if need be. Somewhere kinda close to some Bars/Clubs might be kewl too^^ Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

I will be in Tokyo Mid April to Mid May. So if anyone wants to hang out during the week, I'm down! This is my first time traveling to a different country alone! haha it's pretty cool.. I'm a 29yo White Male btw.

"Ignorance is consent" Michael Tsarion
(#2 (permalink))
Old
metalmark666 (Offline)
JF Regular

Thumbs up Quality hostel chain. - 01-24-2010, 04:01 PM

Hi there.
When I travelled Japan, I used the Khaosan group as much as I could. I used the Ninja hostel in Tokyo and also stayed with them in Fukuoka and Beppu.
Found that the staff were always really nice, the facilities were good too and it is really reasonably priced.
I hope this helps you.
Mark.
Khaosan

Please read my diary that I wrote when travelling and working in Japan for three months. It is also packed full of information. I hope that it can inspire you to have an adventure too.
Please contact me if I can help you with advice or information.

Japan 2008: Memoires of a Gaijin A.K.A. A Journey Through the Land of the Rising Sun
(#3 (permalink))
Old
StueyT (Offline)
JF Regular

02-02-2010, 11:10 AM

Would second that Khaosan in Tokyo are not good stays, in my experience.

K's House in Asakusa gets 10 thumbs up from me. Very friendly staff (Went to extraordinary lengths to help me when I lost my passport), very clean, excellent facilities, 1 min walk to awesome subway links, and you always got people around to chat with.

Very close to all Asakusa sights too!

広島市は一番!
My Flickr
(#4 (permalink))
Old
winters (Offline)
New to JF