JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
alcachino33 (Offline)
New to JF

Lightbulb Food items to bring from the states - 02-13-2010, 05:35 PM

Hello, I'm a 3rd year university student who's about to study abroad in Tokyo for the spring. I will be living with a host family and I really want to make sure the cultural exchange is reciprocal, as a way of showing my gratitude for showing me things, etc.

I want to make food for them that is considered staple in the states, and I was wondering what kinds of grocery items are harder to come by in Japan. I figured this could be a nice change of pace breakfast/dinner-wise as well as offsetting my homesickness for lowbrow Western food after a month or so.

I am already thinking about peanut butter (for pb&j) and velveeta cheese (to make macaroni). I don't want to take too much, though, so I need small packages, meaning no cereal boxes...

Anybody living in Japan who misses a particular food item?
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

02-13-2010, 08:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by alcachino33 View Post
Hello, I'm a 3rd year university student who's about to study abroad in Tokyo for the spring. I will be living with a host family and I really want to make sure the cultural exchange is reciprocal, as a way of showing my gratitude for showing me things, etc.

I want to make food for them that is considered staple in the states, and I was wondering what kinds of grocery items are harder to come by in Japan. I figured this could be a nice change of pace breakfast/dinner-wise as well as offsetting my homesickness for lowbrow Western food after a month or so.

I am already thinking about peanut butter (for pb&j) and velveeta cheese (to make macaroni). I don't want to take too much, though, so I need small packages, meaning no cereal boxes...

There are few things that cannot be found in Tokyo.