JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Passau (Offline)
New to JF

Exclamation cheap tokyo? - 01-28-2011, 05:00 PM

hi everyone! a friend of mine and me, we're planning to travel to tokyo in march. i just heard that tokyo's very expensive, is that true? as i'm a student, i don't have a lot of money. so maybe you can give me some advices how we can have good but cheap time in japan. where can we live? (is camping too cold in march? if not, do u know good camping places?) is food in supermarkets expensive? what can we visit, that does not cost too much?
thanks for helping
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

01-28-2011, 05:22 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Passau View Post
hi everyone! a friend of mine and me, we're planning to travel to tokyo in march. i just heard that tokyo's very expensive, is that true? as i'm a student, i don't have a lot of money. so maybe you can give me some advices how we can have good but cheap time in japan. where can we live? (is camping too cold in march? if not, do u know good camping places?) is food in supermarkets expensive? what can we visit, that does not cost too much?
thanks for helping
If you don't have any money, why are you going to Tokyo? I am sure you would have a better time locally than living like a homeless person for a week in Tokyo.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
JohnBraden (Offline)
Busier Than Shinjuku Station

01-28-2011, 07:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Passau View Post
thanks for helping
You have to plan to spend money. There no fun in using all your savings to get to Japan from Germany only to live the life of a bum there.... Plan to spend about $250/day there (lodging included-if not more) if you want to have a decent time without going overboard in your purchases. Anything else is just not advisable.... You're going half-way across the world to a great country-take advantage of all its benefits!
(#4 (permalink))
Old
Polar (Offline)
JF Old Timer

01-28-2011, 10:15 PM