JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
ThrenodyT (Offline)
New to JF

How do I describe my job? - 08-24-2011, 07:50 PM

Hello!

I am an female that will be travelling solo to Tokyo for 10 days and 8 nights in November. I have been researching for my trip for a couple of months and I have some questions I have not been able to find any advice about.

If it comes up in conversation, I am unsure how to describe my job. I am a security contractor in video surveillance for my city's transit system. I work with Police and Homeland Security. Are American Homeland Security measures an uncomfortable topic in Japan? Also, will people think I am joking about my job because I am female?

In addition, I am in the Military. Should I even mention this?

Lastly, I am an older female. Should I discreetly lie about my age, or tell the truth and possibly be dismissed as being "aged" and potentially loose out on more youthful activities or conversation I would be very interested in (such as Video Games, Otaku culture, etc.)?

Thank you in advance for any help you may be able to offer!
(#2 (permalink))
Old
dxr (Offline)
JF Regular

08-24-2011, 08:25 PM

How much older? I know it might be rude to ask, but it could help.

I think if you're going to lie about your age, always use the 5 year window rule, unless you can REALLY pull it off

Sorry I can't help with the other questions. I don't know much about how Japan views American military at this point. Security/surveillance on the other hand, could be kind of a cool thing?
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Polar (Offline)
JF Old Timer

08-24-2011, 10:06 PM

Unless your fluent in Japanese, I really wouldn't expect the subject to come up. Not to mention the prospect of having conversations with anyone other then other tourists.

However if it does, your description is fine.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
spicytuna (Offline)
JF Old Timer

08-24-2011, 11:08 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThrenodyT View Post
Hello!