JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
TheHazardous1 (Offline)
New to JF

Forms of martial arts - 02-16-2009, 03:51 PM

I wasn't sure which thread a martial arts related subject should be placed in, but I decided put it in this thread versus the sports section since it has the word "art" in it. lol

Anyways, I've been learning kenpo karate for about five years and have recently become interested in other forms. I'm already learning boxing and iaido in the same dojo, but I'd like to learn other unique forms in addition. Preferable well-known ones so I can look up specific moves and katas with ease. I'm especially interested in learning a form that will aid my sparring. I've already considered Taekwondo with it's strong fast kicks. But are there any other unique forms someone knows of?

I've also been interested in learning a new weapon besides katakana, nunchaku, kama, jo, and bo. I think something along the lines of the Guan Dao and Naginata would be preferable, but anything exceptionally unique would be fine.

As you can see I'm looking for uniqueness. :P So, could anyone give me some advice? Thanks in advance!
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Jaydelart (Offline)
ジェイデラート

02-16-2009, 08:54 PM

I'm not exactly sure what you consider unique.
I know there are many Chinese martial arts forms. Quite a few of them involve the use of elaborate weapons. However, some of them may be very difficult to find and be accepted into.

Are you familiar with Muay Thai and Escrima/Kali?
I think they fit your description. They are practical, dynamic, well-known, and less complicated to locate and learn.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
TheHazardous1 (Offline)
New to JF

02-16-2009, 09:16 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaydelart View Post
I'm not exactly sure what you consider unique.
I know there are many Chinese martial arts forms. Quite a few of them involve the use of elaborate weapons. However, some of them may be very difficult to find and be accepted into.