JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Yuzuka (Offline)
New to JF

Post Japanese Tattoo Advise - 03-03-2010, 02:56 PM

Hello fellow Japan lovers

First off, my English isnt perfect, this is because im from the Netherlands so please excuse me for that

Ok so ill explain my situation:

4 months ago my sister passed away due uncureable cancer, we were very close especially the last few months.
Now that i've come over it a bit i decided to show my gratitude in a tattoo form.
Im a big fan of japanese tattoo's so i decided im going for a japanese/asian one.
Now im not a expert on this kind of art so im not quite sure how i want the tattoo, i was thinking of a angel wing with the date of her birth and the day she passed away with the word: 損失 wich means "Loss" as far i know.

Is this a good idea or do you people have a japanese tattoo form wich shows the loss of someone?
Some advise is welcome

Thanks in advance!
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

03-03-2010, 06:02 PM

Not a good idea.

損失

can mean "loss", but it also means "hemorrhage", "deficit", "cost" and is often used in a financial context. Not a good idea for a tattoo.

If you know real Japanese tattoos, you will know words rarely appear in them.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
allhailhata (Offline)
JF Regular

03-03-2010, 07:56 PM

I think appropriate word is name+命.For example,洋子命.I don't know John Lennon did so.
Not necessary means the loss of someone.It means love or loyalty for some one.
But I don't think foreigner's names are fit.
Using simply 愛(means love) is not strange in meaning.
But,as MMM said, words rarely appear in japanese tatoo.In addition,japanese people usually think of japanese tatoo as symbol of yakuza now.

English speakers sometimes laugh at Japangrish or Engrish.If you use 損失,Japanese speakers feel the same.
I think a angel wing with the date of her birth and the day she passed away with NO japanese word is good.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
sarasi (Offline)
JF Old Timer