JapanForum.com

JapanForum.com (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/)
-   Japanese Art (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-art/)
-   -   calligraphy - my recent works 半紙 size (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-art/33368-calligraphy-my-recent-works-%E5%8D%8A%E7%B4%99-size.html)

ryuurui 08-14-2010 01:38 PM

calligraphy - my recent works

removing content that is no longer valid

dogsbody70 08-14-2010 05:04 PM

I am no expert but I love them very much.

ryuurui 08-14-2010 09:14 PM

thanks a lot.

here is one slightly edited

無音無夢 no music(sound) no dream

dogsbody70 08-15-2010 10:32 AM

These are similar aren't they. I do like them very much. It would be good to have opinions from some people who really appreciate it and understand, especially Japanese people.

dogsbody70 08-15-2010 10:35 AM

Hello again what size and type of brushes do you use?

Are they easily available on line?

Sashimister 08-15-2010 11:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dogsbody70 (Post 824420)
These are similar aren't they. I do like them very much. It would be good to have opinions from some people who really appreciate it and understand, especially Japanese people.

Not that I speak on behalf of our entire nation, OP is awesome and that's an understatement.

ryuurui 08-15-2010 01:50 PM

Oh wow, I really appreciate it, Sashimister.

@dogsbody70: well, it depends on what I am writing. Hanshi size is a usual paper size used mainly for training. Slightly bigger than A4. Writing on it i use so called 大筆 おおふで (hairs are 4cm long), made either from horse hair or 羊毛, i.e. sheep hair. It also depends on what size of characters you want to write.

There are many types of brushes, depending on in what style you write, and what effect you want to achieve. For example, kasure (smudges of ink, inconsistent lines with lots of white spots) is usually achieved by using a soft brush made of sheep wool.