JapanForum.com  


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
DollFaceNana's Avatar
DollFaceNana (Offline)
I Need Your Love
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: in Room 707
Send a message via AIM to DollFaceNana Send a message via MSN to DollFaceNana Send a message via Yahoo to DollFaceNana
If you love Japanese female fashion get this book! - 07-28-2007, 02:47 AM

"Japanese Schoolgirl Inferno" Tokyo teen fashion subculture handbook" It tells you all about the different fashions that came out in the last 60 to 50 years. It is AWESOME!!!

Ellie <3


Japan-a-rama
^_^Family^_^
Cousin: Forgotenmemory
Reply With Quote
(#2 (permalink))
Old
aikawaii's Avatar
aikawaii (Offline)
JF Regular
 
Posts: 49
Join Date: Jul 2007
Send a message via MSN to aikawaii
07-29-2007, 08:59 PM

Cool, where can u get it from?


Hey all! I wanna learn Japanese, so if any of you teachers can spare a moment.. Contact meee
Reply With Quote
(#3 (permalink))
Old
ButterflyDemise's Avatar
ButterflyDemise (Offline)
喜悦
 
Posts: 344
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
07-30-2007, 09:19 PM

I think I've heard of this book.. where may it be bought online?



"Even if a leapord sleeps at the end of your bed like a kitten, it still has the power to tear out your throat."
Reply With Quote
(#4 (permalink))
Old
HIalchemist's Avatar
HIalchemist (Offline)
JF Old Timer
 
Posts: 194
Join Date: Jul 2007
07-30-2007, 10:39 PM

I want it!Where may it be located?

I guess J-List -- a wonderful toybox of things from Japan!




Reply With Quote
(#5 (permalink))
Old
ButterflyDemise's Avatar
ButterflyDemise (Offline)
喜悦
 
Posts: 344
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
07-31-2007, 12:51 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by HIalchemist View Post
I want it!Where may it be located?

I guess J-List -- a wonderful toybox of things from Japan!
I couldn't find it anywhere on J-box, but I found it on Amazon:
Click here for link

Looks like it's good (^^) Only two reviews, but both were 5 stars! I'm going to get it as soon as I can~



"Even if a leapord sleeps at the end of your bed like a kitten, it still has the power to tear out your throat."
Reply With Quote
(#6 (permalink))
Old
Sophieneechan's Avatar
Sophieneechan (Offline)
JF Old Timer
 
Posts: 150
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
07-31-2007, 01:16 AM

What would we have done without Amazon....?


Sophie
Reply With Quote
(#7 (permalink))
Old
Sakurachan's Avatar
Sakurachan (Offline)
JF Regular
 
Posts: 31
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South-West England
Uwaah! - 08-16-2007, 03:27 PM

I SO NEED THAT BOOK!!! I also want a book called something like Fresh FRUiTS, which is a compendium of Shoichi Aoki's photographs of interestingly dressed people in the streets of Japan. There was a book in 2001- so before this one- called FRUiTS, which was the same idea.

xx


Kōhi wa suki dewa arimasen... Je n'aime pas du café... I don't like coffee... why is this such a good phrase for me?
Reply With Quote
(#8 (permalink))
Old
ButterflyDemise's Avatar
ButterflyDemise (Offline)
喜悦
 
Posts: 344
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
08-16-2007, 04:07 PM

Finished reading the book a few days ago (forgot to comment here)~ I loved it! It gave a lot of backround information I wasn't aware of. Though it was also filled with common sense stuff most already know that are into Japanese Street Fashion. (Though, since it's a 'handbook', I guess it's suppose to have both). haha. Much worth the money~! (^^)/



"Even if a leapord sleeps at the end of your bed like a kitten, it still has the power to tear out your throat."
Reply With Quote
(#9 (permalink))
Old
MMM's Avatar
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan
 
Posts: 12,201
Join Date: Jun 2007
08-16-2007, 04:20 PM

One of the authors, Patrick Macias, is the editor of OtakuUSA magazine. He knows his stuff...
Reply With Quote
(#10 (permalink))
Old
Aleesunz (Offline)
Watch This Space
 
Posts: 124
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Scotland, UK baby (H)
Send a message via AIM to Aleesunz Send a message via MSN to Aleesunz Send a message via Skype™ to Aleesunz
08-16-2007, 09:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sakurachan View Post
I SO NEED THAT BOOK!!! I also want a book called something like Fresh FRUiTS, which is a compendium of Shoichi Aoki's photographs of interestingly dressed people in the streets of Japan. There was a book in 2001- so before this one- called FRUiTS, which was the same idea.

xx
I have thaat.

: D

FRUiTS I mean. Rly guiid. A lot better than that Japanese Schoolgirl Inferno one IMO.

The Waterstones over here stocks it so I had a flick through. And eh, I don;t like it...XD Pretty small and just too basic. It's based solely for ULTRAAA beginners and there's not many picturds in it either.

FRUiTS is rly nize though, although they have a random picturd of a dog in it. Like, just a plain dog on it's own infront of a wall.

XD

Confused me for a while ><


./Let's Pretend We Don't Exist, Let's Pretend We're In Antartica

x~ www.lastfm.com/user/CallieBo ;p
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright 2003-2006 Virtual Japan.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6