JapanForum.com

JapanForum.com (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/)
-   Japanese Fashion (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-fashion/)
-   -   Hair culture in Japan? (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-fashion/9271-hair-culture-japan.html)

disbeliever 11-04-2007 01:43 PM

Hair culture in Japan?

Hi, I'm a hairdresser student from Finland and my teacher gave us a culture related assignment and I would love to hear comments from everybody. Whether you have lived in Japan or visited there briefly or interested in any way, please send a comment.

What kind of hair culture does Japan have? Are people very precise what their hair looks like? Do people go to hair salons? Are there any urban stories how you get a beautiful shiny hair? What kind of shampoos and conditioners? What kind of hair colors and cuts are in? I would love to hear everything :p

Thank you.

CherryMillkieWay 11-04-2007 06:27 PM

Harajuku! :)

5 Attachment(s)
:puccasmile: :yhgirl: Well first you would have to figure out which group of people in japan you are reffering to, like say harajuku which is to the equivelent of punkrock in america. Their hairstyles are animeish, dyed(colors), spiked, laired, all black, ultra shiny,:phgirl: or like the usual dyed that orange color . I guess they go to salons, like any normal person would. My friend from Okinawa:rheart: dosn't care much about her hair though, she just wears it down everyday.

Kenpachi11 11-04-2007 07:01 PM

You can look at my pictures in my gallery and see how their hair is

vulgarshudder 11-05-2007 04:22 PM

Without making sweeping generalisations, I'd say alot of young people really care about their hair. Alot dye it lighter etc, use lots of products and styling etc. Actually you see alot of middle aged women now with dyed hair. And elementary school kids with dyed hair even lol.