JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
UtakataChan (Offline)
JF Old Timer

Send a message via AIM to UtakataChan
Ever Been Embarassed? - 05-23-2008, 05:56 PM

Have you ever gone to a Japanese restaurant and been embarassed?

A few days ago, we went to a hibachi house (I think they might be called something else in Japan but I am not sure). I ordered chicken and calamari, and unagi sushi and the food was absolutely delicious.

However, I am a novice in the art of using chopsticks. I hadn't used them in a while so it was taking me a bit to get back into them. The waiter actually brought over some rigged chopsticks with a piece of paper tied between the sticks with a rubber band. I was so embarassed!

I know he was just trying to help, but I felt unworthy. Lol.

Does anyone else have any Japanese restaurant embarassment stories?

うたかた
Beauty & Stupid... Ah-ha-ha!
CLAIMED:
Isshi (Kagrra)
Anza (Head Phones President)
Daishi (Psycho le Cemu)
Aya (Psycho le Cemu)

Shattered Kingdom - A BSSM RPG
(#2 (permalink))
Old
KitsuneFr (Offline)
Mori kara kimashita...

Location: Versailles, France (not Hellmouth, Sunnydale, lol!)
Send a message via MSN to KitsuneFr Send a message via Yahoo to KitsuneFr
05-23-2008, 06:11 PM

Hi!
First, rigged chopsticks in paper are consommable ones, so you have to separate them carefully. Then, as they're not lacked or having no varnishes on them, they may have some little bits of sharp wood on it, so you have to rub them together to make this little things go away, eventually.

Then, as they're shortest than the japanese lacked ones (as I use to have at home), it is not the same way to use. But that depends of the person (my wife is more handy with the rigged ones).