JapanForum.com

JapanForum.com (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/)
-   Japanese Language Help (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-language-help/)
-   -   japanese ppl wont talk to me in japanese! (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-language-help/14773-japanese-ppl-wont-talk-me-japanese.html)

musahinokosugi 04-20-2008 12:47 PM

japanese ppl wont talk to me in japanese!

hi! i am american, have lived in tokyo for about a year and a half. i studied japanese in college and came here hoping my get better at speaking, but the japanese people i meet for the most part refuse to speak to me in japanese. i know i am not that bad (for god's sake, i am employed as a japanese-english *translator*) but very often when i say something, the people reply to me in english.

now, it could be because my accent is bad or something, but they have obviously understood what i said, since they reply is usually appropriate to the question i have asked (only in a different language).

this is getting really frustrating and insulting. can any japanese members or longtime residents shed some light on this problem and ways that i might solve it?

superheel 04-20-2008 12:56 PM

That's the common case in many parts of the world. Maybe its because youre american, and many people think that they would impress a foreigner if they speak to them in their language. We had a Japanese neighbor, he talks to my uncle in Tagalog but my uncle replies english, how funny. Maybe as time goes, its either you or them will give up, maybe youll end up talking in English to them, or they end up talking Japanese to you.

Tsuyako 04-20-2008 01:17 PM

Yeah, I agree it's like that in most parts of the world. My English teacher used to teach in Japan and she said that some people are very enthusiastic about displaying their English skills.

odonata 04-20-2008 01:44 PM