JapanForum.com

JapanForum.com (https://www.japanforum.com/forum/)
-   Japanese Language Help (https://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-language-help/)
-   -   Studying Japanese in college (https://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-language-help/16610-studying-japanese-college.html)

JohnMN 06-22-2008 06:41 PM

Studying Japanese in college

Hi everyone, I will be completing my last year of high school this year, so I am thinking about what I would like to study in college. Right now I'm thinking of the possibility of double-majoring in French and Japanese. I've studied french in school, but not Japanese. I would really like to learn Japanese, however, and I definitely will be willing to put considerable time into doing so. My question is, how difficult will it be for me to start learning Japanese? Is it advisable to study it if I have no background?

Also, another thing that I'm worried about is that I have a lot of trouble pronouncing Japanese "R"s. Is it acceptable to replace an "L" sound with a Japanese R? Is it very noticeable if I do this?

Thank you!

John

MMM 06-22-2008 07:28 PM

Most people who start studying Japanese 101 will have very little or no background, so go for it.

Your teacher will show you how to promounce Rs, and no, just using L is not acceptable. It sounds very foreign.

biohazardchick 06-22-2008 08:25 PM

Yea I don't think you'll have so much of a problem, especially if you are willing to put a lot of effort into it, like you said! :) It might help to take a summer class or something like in Japanese or even just print out hiragana or katakana booklets and be familiar with the characters and how to write them.
I took 2 years so far of Japanese in high school and am planning on taking it again in my upcoming junior year. :)

filiadragongurl 06-23-2008 12:30 PM