JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
LinnyLo (Offline)
JF Regular

Need help writing a letter to my host family in Japanese. - 12-20-2008, 03:29 AM

Konbanwa,

I am a high school student, and I am going to be an exchange student this summer in Japan. Part of the application process is to write my future host family a letter (in Japanese). Problem is, I took Japanese two years ago for only a year at my school before my sensei moved. I have forgotten a lot, so I need some help.

This is what I have so far: (PS- It's all in romaji because my computer is a Gateway and so it rejects all things foreign. I can't type or read East Asian characters on it... I'm planning to send this to my host family written in actual Japanese characters though. But still, since I can't read it, if you help can you write in romaji and not characters so I can read it? Thanks... And sorry if my romaji sucks, I'm too use to writing in characters.)

Hosto fuamuri- he,
Konnichiwa. Hajimemashite. Watashi wa (my name) desu. Douzoyoroshiku. Watashi wa juu nana sai desu. Amerika karakimashita. Watashi no uchi wa (my state) desu. Watashi no kichi wa chiisai desu [My city is small?]. Doko wa uchi desu ka. Koukou san nen sei desu [I am a high school junior?]. Do kushyo to ryokuu ga suki desu [I like reading and travelling?].

Watashi wa roku jin kazoku desu. Okaasan to otousan to oneesan to otouto to watashi desu. Oneesan wa juu hachi sai desu. Otouto wa juu yon sai desu. Shimaiga imasen [I have no sisters?]. Nan jin kazoku desu ka. Otouto to watashi hokke- ga suki desu [my little brother and I like hockey?]. Nani supo-tsu ga suki desu ka [what sports do you like?]. Petto ga imasu ka. Petto ga imasen.

----That's all I have so far. Things in [] are things I'm trying to say but I'm not sure about what I wrote.

Things I still need to add (but don't quite know how to say in Japanese):