JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
edG (Offline)
New to JF

Question Help with notes please? - 11-25-2009, 09:57 AM

Hi!
My name is Roald, I am from South Africa. I was an English teacher in Japan for a year teaching at five elementary schools. I have been studying Japanese on and off for the past 2 and a half years or so from books and CDs and now a little from experience in Japan.

I am currently in the process of replying to many many notes that were given to me from some of my elementary school students back in Japan when I left. I am not a 100% sure about how correct some of the sentences are that I am planning on using so I thought it would be a good idea to ask around first so if you are willing to help it will be greatly appreciated! Please keep in mind that the students are still quite young and not all of them know kanji all that well yet... Let us start at the beginning:

I wrote "おてがみありがとうね。" to thank them for the notes first. Would "tegami" be appropriate? Most of the messages they gave me where just little notes or small decorated letters. Also would the "ne" at the end really be appropriate? Also how could I say thank you for the letter and picture (drawing) instead?

Next does this make 100% sense? "えいごがすきになりましたよかったです。" (to say I am happy that you started to like English)

Also "えいごがたのしんだよかったです。" (to say that I am happy that you enjoyed English)

Also "いつまでもがんばってください。" (Please always do your best)

Also "バスケとおにごっこをしてくれて、ありがとう、とて もたのしかったですよ。" (to say thank you for playing basketball and onigokko with me, it was lots of fun)

Also "わたしもにほんごをがんばります。" (to say I will do my best to learn Japanese too)

And "ありがとう、カメラマンをがんばります。" (to say thank you, I will do my best as a photographer)

And a more challenging one, one of my students wrote "外国の人にあたらせっきょくてきにはなしかけてみた いとおもいます。" and I would like to reply that it is great that he has found interest in foreigners. Or maybe any other suggestions for replies?