JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Harumaki (Offline)
JF Regular

Books for Intermediate learners! - 12-08-2009, 03:16 PM

Hey guys,

I got an email about what books I use, since I am studying Japanese on academic level, the books we use are proven to be helpful. I will give a short list with explanation about the books and why they will be helpful. But don't forget, this is for people who already understand Japanese to some degree and seek for mooooooooooooooooooooooore!

First of all, get yourself a 電子辞書 so you can research kanji much easier and faster. (the papyrus from Sharp are nice ones)

- みんなの日本語 books are very nice. They have a text book, kanji, grammar and exercise book. Very easy understandable with english explanation. There is a lvl 1 and lvl 2 version of most books. lvl 1 is beginner and lvl 2 is intermediate. Check them out! they rock!

-Oxford Japanese: Grammar& Verbs (ISBN: 978-0-19-860382) This is a pocket booklet with grammar constructions and explanation. Very handy to always take with you! ^_^

-会話のにほんご: Jpanaese through Dialogues for INtermediate Learners. (ISBN: 9784789012850)
This book will explain and let you exercise often used expressions and similar sounding expressions in Japanese. The good thing about this is that it handles grammar that is relative to each other. Like first chapter: ~て置く、~ください、~て欲しい、てみる、。。。or によって、による、にとって or ~るところ、~たところ、ているところ、。。。 So it is nice to understand the difference between expressions.

-どんな時 どう使う 日本語 文型表現 500:(ISBN: 9784872345896) this is the most awesome book! it explains 500 Japanese grammatical expressions! In Japanese! so, maybe it would be better to first finish the 会話 boook and after that, this book. Since this is all Japanese

- Last one is for when you dont understand an expression, you can check it online. http://www.alc.co.jp/index.html

I hope this helps :P