JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
sergiu (Offline)
New to JF

My Japanese journey thread - 07-29-2008, 11:25 AM

I am Romanian, I know a little Japanese (like Konnichiwa and Arigatou, that means I'm a noob), but now I want to push it to the ultimate level: THE DBZ LEVEL!

So what I'll do is post some sentences that I'll be listening to, and if you're kind enough, you can help me figure them out.
So I'll post the subtitle sentence in English followed by what I think I heard. I'll use Denshi Jisho - Online Japanese dictionary as my dictionary for kanji.
So here goes:
First episode of DB sentences:

Long ago, in an era completely unknown to all
Koro wa mukashi mukashi daremo mita koto mo kita koto mo nai fushinna jidai.

On a certain mountain 1000s of miles from civilization
Miyako kara shunsendi (this is what I could hear, I know it may be wrong) mo hanaretaru yama oku ni...

There lived a lone boy who communed with nature...

Daishizen mo aite ni tata hitori de senkaku shite ni ( something similar to shite ni, there was noise so I couldn't say for sure) shounen ga ita.

The thread should be called Guessing game, now that I think of it

Last edited by sergiu : 07-29-2008 at 11:41 AM.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
PouncingAnt (Offline)
JF Regular

07-30-2008, 12:25 AM

Is that how you learned English? If so, I'm seriously impressed. Because you appear to have picked about the most difficult method of learning a language I can imagine! I seriously recommend a change of learning methods.

That said, if you're doing this just for fun, I can see how it might be a laugh. If not a confusing one.

lets tackle the first sentence.
"koro mukashi mukashi" - well, koro is like toki, meaning the time, and mukashi means "long ago", and when used twice consecutively picks up a feeling very similar to the "Once upon a time/ long long ago" of English literature.