JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
StormingWynn (Offline)
New to JF

I want to learn Japanese. Where do I start? - 02-03-2010, 10:30 PM

Hello, I'm new so excuse the newbiness. I have a few questions before I begin learning the Japanese language. Should I learn the Katakana, Hiragana and a few Kanji before I even start to set up phrases? Should I learn the rules of grammar first? Or should I learn both at the same time? How long should I expect to work at the language before I can even begin to form phrases?

A little something about me. I live in the US. I'm a college student working for my degree in Biophysics. My hobbies are learning languages, video games, cars and reading among other things. I know 3 languages; Spanish, English and French. I can understand a couple more like Portuguese and Italian. Japanese will be my first "eastern" language.

Thanks
~Wynn
(#2 (permalink))
Old
StormingWynn (Offline)
New to JF

02-03-2010, 10:31 PM

Oops. I hit the reply button! Grrr. Sorry

One more question now that I double posted. What books do you recommend I buy to maximize learning? Software? Etc... Thanks

Last edited by StormingWynn : 02-03-2010 at 10:34 PM.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
KyleGoetz (Offline)
Attorney at Flaw

02-03-2010, 10:47 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by StormingWynn View Post
Oops. I hit the reply button! Grrr. Sorry

One more question now that I double posted. What books do you recommend I buy to maximize learning? Software? Etc... Thanks
Beginner:
Yookoso! for structured grammar and vocab
Kanji in Context
Kanji ABC
download Anki (or Memosyne, but I like Anki better) and make flashcards of all words and kanji you learn (have a kanji/kana deck and a vocab deck) and review daily, maybe introducing 10 new cards of vocab daily and 5 new kanji cards daily

Intermediate:
Japanese Learner's Dictionary
Japanese Verbs at a Glance
How to Tell the Difference Between Japanese Particles
A Dictionary of Japanese Particles