JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Nokutetsu (Offline)
JF Regular

Send a message via MSN to Nokutetsu
でしょう? - 03-07-2010, 03:47 PM

Hey. I'm still a noob at Japanese, and I'm studying for my N5. But there's something I'm not clear on, and I can't find any clear answers across the internet.

I know でしょう has a few meanings. でしょうか is kind of like ね at the end of a sentence, but less direct, right? And it can also be used in place of です to be more polite.

But it's the 'probably' function I'm not clear on. Does でしょう always come at the end of the sentence when used this way? I found a few example sentences where is was placed at the end, but I think I've seen a few places where it wasn't at the end.

I assumed it came at the end unless it's followed by a verb, but the verb doesn't always come at the end, like in 彼は明日来るでしょう。 So I'm confused.

I'm hoping it isn't one of those grammar rules where there's a lot of exceptions.

Ahh, the internet. Where men are men, women are men, and 14 year old girls are FBI agents.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
KyleGoetz (Offline)
Attorney at Flaw

03-07-2010, 05:02 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nokutetsu View Post
Hey. I'm still a noob at Japanese, and I'm studying for my N5. But there's something I'm not clear on, and I can't find any clear answers across the internet.

I know でしょう has a few meanings. でしょうか is kind of like ね at the end of a sentence, but less direct, right? And it can also be used in place of です to be more polite.

But it's the 'probably' function I'm not clear on. Does でしょう always come at the end of the sentence when used this way? I found a few example sentences where is was placed at the end, but I think I've seen a few places where it wasn't at the end.

I assumed it came at the end unless it's followed by a verb, but the verb doesn't always come at the end, like in 彼は明日来るでしょう。 So I'm confused.

I'm hoping it isn't one of those grammar rules where there's a lot of exceptions.
1. でしょう is a verb.