JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Blitzwing85 (Offline)
マーク - 戦士

Question about Grammer in Japanese - 03-30-2010, 02:38 PM

Well, i'm very new to learning Japanese. Started a few hours ago.
I've learnt a lot of the basics and to be honest it seems like a rather easy language to learn to speak. (i'm learning via audiobook)

However, i also want to learn to write it, which i find much harder.

The first thing i'm not sure about is when to use a space in a sentence?

For instance (keeping it simple):
Mainichi terebi o mimas, soshite tokidoki sushi o tabemas
Typing it as it's spoken would result in:
まいにち てれび お みまs そして ときどき す し お たべまs

However, when i scan through random Japanese writing on the net there do not appear to be as many spaces as i'd expect.
I'm going to guess that the 'o' should be added to the end of the verb for starters?
てれびお instead of てれび お ?

But any clarification on this would be appretiated.
I have other questions, but 1 at a time.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Sashimister (Offline)
他力本願

03-30-2010, 03:17 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitzwing85 View Post
The first thing i'm not sure about is when to use a space in a sentence?
The only place you will see a space is at the beginning of a paragraph. This might shock you but it's the truth.

Quote:
For instance (keeping it simple):
Mainichi terebi o mimas, soshite tokidoki sushi o tabemas
Typing it as it's spoken would result in:
まいにち てれび お みまs そして ときどき す し お たべまs