JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Rukito (Offline)
New to JF

Send a message via ICQ to Rukito Send a message via Skype™ to Rukito
Question Google translate - 06-03-2010, 07:49 PM

How good / bad Google translator to translate from Japanese?
Here is an example of translation site.
I'm just starting to learn Japanese and want to know - can this tool help me?

Sorry if this topic has been discussed previously

never knows best

Last edited by Rukito : 06-03-2010 at 07:55 PM.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

06-03-2010, 07:53 PM

Fine for one word / one word. Not good for grammar or real comprehension.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
WingsToDiscovery (Offline)
JF Noob

06-03-2010, 07:56 PM

I agree. If you're just doing a quick lookup on a word or two, Google translate most likely won't let you down. Things like paragraphs are normally botched just like any other translator on the web.
(#4 (permalink))
Old
Raingirlxd (Offline)
New to JF

Send a message via Yahoo to Raingirlxd
06-04-2010, 09:20 PM

Look, I took a translation, from google, just to check, even though I knew the meaning. Which was a song lyric, which meant our love would be forbidden even by the gods. Now, I used google, it gave me the meaning as, something like, Love by us monkeys, washing with soap and never....yeah...so I don't think google can do more than a word or two.
(#5 (permalink))
Old
noodle (Offline)
Wo zhi dao ni ai wo

06-04-2010, 09:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMM View Post
Fine for one word / one word. Not good for grammar or real comprehension.
Hasn't it improved lately? For example, French to English or English to French has improved a lot when it comes to structure and grammar etc! And a lot of common phrases are translated perfectly!
(#6 (permalink))
Old
KyleGoetz (Offline)
Attorney at Flaw

06-04-2010, 09:47 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by noodle View Post