JapanForum.com

JapanForum.com (https://www.japanforum.com/forum/)
-   Japanese Language Help (https://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-language-help/)
-   -   Japanese word for "and" when using several nouns to describe someone? (https://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-language-help/33280-japanese-word-%22%22-when-using-several-nouns-describe-someone.html)

Xajron 08-10-2010 08:05 PM

Japanese word for "and" when using several nouns to describe someone?

Hello!

I have been studying japanese for a while now, but I realize that I don't know the word for "and", that you use when you are trying to connect nouns that describe the same thing/person. Do I still use "to"? How do you for example "I'm a student and a teacher"? Do you say "Watashi wa gakusei to sensei desu"?

Thank you!

KyleGoetz 08-10-2010 08:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xajron (Post 823381)
Hello!

I have been studying japanese for a while now, but I realize that I don't know the word for "and", that you use when you are trying to connect nouns that describe the same thing/person. Do I still use "to"? How do you for example "I'm a student and a teacher"? Do you say "Watashi wa gakusei to sensei desu"?

Thank you!

If you are linking nouns, you always use と for a complete list, no matter the function of the nouns in the sentence.

yuriyuri 08-10-2010 10:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KyleGoetz (Post 823385)
If you are linking nouns, you always use と for a complete list, no matter the function of the nouns in the sentence.

Is it not で in this case?
Because it is not simply just a list of nouns, it is describing what the person is.
(Maybe I made that up, but I thought it was で in this case)

For example from alc:
“is a and”の検索結果(6380 件):英辞郎 on the Web:スペースアルク

Ben Gates is a historian and adventurer.
ベン・ゲイツは歴史学者で冒険家です。

Crownedinterror 08-10-2010 10:49 PM

Quote:

For example from alc:
“is a and”の検索結果(6380 件):英辞郎 on the Web:スペースアルク
Those で are て form of だ(です/である).

学生で、先生です。
がくせいで、せんせいです。