JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Sashimister (Offline)
他力本願

Do You Know the Words We Know? - 08-12-2010, 05:10 AM

Can someone tell me what these words mean? I know the answer, mind you.

The purpose of this thread is to show you that if you keep asking "What's the Japanese word for ~~~?" as a vocabulary-building method, you will never get to know many of the important words that every average Japanese knows and uses on a daily basis because you won't ever even wonder what the Japanese call something that is non-existent in your culture and/or language.

Consider my personal experience. It took me a decade since I started studying English to learn the simple, often-used English word "prom". Why? Because there is no such thing as a prom in Japan; therefore, I had never even wondered how to say it in English.

Anyway, enough ranting. Someone tell me what these words mean.  You can use anything. Please pretend that I know little Japanese.

雨男
雪男
晴れ女
(#2 (permalink))
Old
KyleGoetz (Offline)
Attorney at Flaw

08-12-2010, 06:15 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sashimister View Post
Can someone tell me what these words mean? I know the answer, mind you.

The purpose of this thread is to show you that if you keep asking "What's the Japanese word for ~~~?" as a vocabulary-building method, you will never get to know many of the important words that every average Japanese knows and uses on a daily basis because you won't ever even wonder what the Japanese call something that is non-existent in your culture and/or language.

Consider my personal experience. It took me a decade since I started studying English to learn the simple, often-used English word "prom". Why? Because there is no such thing as a prom in Japan; therefore, I had never even wondered how to say it in English.

Anyway, enough ranting. Someone tell me what these words mean.  You can use anything. Please pretend that I know little Japanese.

雨男(あめおとこ?)
雪男(ゆきおとこ?せつなん?)
晴れ女