JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
Hansuke (Offline)
New to JF

Japanese Grammar and Kanji? - 10-24-2010, 03:41 PM

みなさんこんたちわ!
So I'm new to the Japanese language, and I'm almost done with the Hiragana. I'm so confused about where to start studying the Japanese grammar online. I'm having hard times finding a decent website that could teach Grammar well. I only found TextFugu, which I believe a bit expensive I won't be able to find textbooks in bookstores here as because they don't sell language textbooks. Any suggestions for good online Japanese lessons?

And regarding Kanji, I know my question is somehow general, but do we have to memorize all of the pronunciations for a Kanji (On and Kun)?

I would really appreciate some help
(#2 (permalink))
Old
tsurezure (Offline)
New to JF

10-24-2010, 03:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hansuke View Post
みなさんこんたちわ!
みなさんこん!
(#3 (permalink))
Old
Hansuke (Offline)
New to JF

10-24-2010, 04:01 PM

Oops sorry. I typed the characters using the Japanese Palette on my Mac, and the ta looks somehow similar to the ni XD Thanks for correcting
(#4 (permalink))
Old
KyleGoetz (Offline)
Attorney at Flaw

10-24-2010, 04:15 PM

Quote:
Oops sorry. I typed the characters using the Japanese Palette on my Mac, and the ta looks somehow similar to the ni XD Thanks for correcting
You can set up your Mac to where you can just type k o n ' n i t i h a and it will display こんにちは. It's in System Preferences->International->Input Menu. Enable kotoeri. Then look at the bottom for what the "select next input source in menu" is. Whatever it is, you use this key combination to switch between English input and Japanese (Kotoeri) input.
(#5 (permalink))
Old
Kusanagi666 (Offline)
New to JF

10-25-2010, 03:37 PM

Hi, I like Kim's Guide; why don't ya try?
(#6 (permalink))
Old
Hansuke (Offline)
New to JF

10-25-2010, 04:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kusanagi666 View Post
Oh okay. Thanks for the suggestion
(#7 (permalink))
Old