JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
robhol (Offline)
Can I eat him??

Reading material for different "levels"? - 10-28-2010, 06:07 AM

So, many - me included - would say that reading practice is hugely important. Unfortunately, it can be a bit difficult to find reading materials suited to one's "level."

I was wondering if there were any websites with articles, etc. that would be good as "reading practice".

Currently, I'd rate myself a beginner-intermediate. (Although most likely.. lower.) While I do master the kana by now, I don't read very many kanji - around a couple hundred discounting the inevitable forgotten ones.

It would be grand with a list or something, with some articles for complete beginners (no kana), some for the slightly more advanced (like yours truly. Significantly limited kanji usage), some for the more advanced still, and then something for the really, really, REALLY advanced, I guess.

If no such list exists, perhaps we could start one?
(#2 (permalink))
Old
KyleGoetz (Offline)
Attorney at Flaw

10-28-2010, 01:22 PM

Hiragana Times.

Once you know 1000-1200 kanji, then just read newspaper articles.

I don't know if there's anything in between. By my third year of Japanese at university, the professors had us reading newspaper articles, and we couldn't have known but about 1000-1200 kanji. Before that, we read maybe one article or short story every few weeks, but mainly just studied grammar and vocabulary and made/spoke short sentences using the new techniques we learned.

tl;dr The only thing a professor ever had me read was newspaper articles (and one short story).
(#3 (permalink))
Old
chryuop (Offline)
JF Old Timer

10-28-2010, 09:26 PM

If you wait till you know kanji to start reading you are wrong