JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
FullmetalAnimator (Offline)
New to JF

Seeking corrections on Japanese text. - 07-17-2011, 02:57 PM

Hello.
I am an animation student that is currently working on a short story entitled Tsuki no Usagi (Moon Rabbits). I have recently written my first draft of the script and will comence my rewrites in the upcoming weeks.
Although the script is based in Japan and I have used minimum dialogue I have included some scenes which feature Japanese text. My Japanese is not perfect and even though I knew some of it, there were some phrases I wasn't too sure about and was forced to use Google translate.
Yes, I'm aware that Google translate is not that reliable but that is why I am here. I would be very grateful if anybody here could take the time to review and correct the Japanese text I used here. I greatly appreciate you for taking the time reading and I hope you can be of help.

Anyway, here's the few phrases I used in the script:

どうぞよろしく。 私の名前は雪です。

Dozo Yoroshiku. Watashino namae wa YUKI desu.

Pleased to meet you. My name is YUKI.

(A question about this. I'm aware that 'watashino' is usually omitted but would it work here since it's a formal introduction or is it still unneccessary?)

日本の書道

Nihongo shodō

Japanese calligraphy

雪。なぜあなたは私を辞めたのか?

YUKI. Naze anata wa watashi o yameta no ka?

YUKI, why did you leave me?

純。私が行っているということ悲しいことしないでくだ さい。私はあなたが幸せになると生活の中で新しい友達 を作りたい。私の友人てくれてありがとう。お体を大切 に。雪

JUN, Watashi ga okonatte iru toyuu koto kanashii koto shinaide kudasai. Watashi wa anata ga shiawase ni naru to seikatsu no naka de atarashii tomodachi o tsukuritai. Watashi no yūjinte kurete arigatō. O karada o taisetsu ni. Yuki

Jun, please don’t be sad that I am gone. I want you to be happy and make new friends in life. Thank you for being my friend. Please take care of yourself. YUKI.

(This last one I really wasn't too sure of.)