JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
jamchan (Offline)
New to JF

Kanji learning method. - 10-16-2011, 11:12 PM

Hello everyone !

Today I started to study Japanese. I have bought the Genki books and I'm all set.

I'm just figuring out how to study the kanji. I looked at how Genki does it, but I really don't want to learn the kanji as a separate thing. Since I saw a few kanji's which weren't in the vocabulary of the same chapter. So I was thinking.. When I'm studying the vocabulary, I might as well learn the kanji for each word right away (if there is one).

This might take up a lot more time for each chapter because I also want to be able to write them.

Is anyone studying the kanji like this as well? How is it going? Are there any drawbacks by studying like this?
(#2 (permalink))
Old
Nameless (Offline)
JF Old Timer

10-16-2011, 11:15 PM

Reviewing the Kanji

I'm gonna kindly ask Mr. Heisig to pay me for promoting so much his method.

To prove to you it works:
My stats:
875 Kanji

And I am still feeling like not making enough effort.
Imagine someone that does, that said, I will punish myself If I don't study harder from now on.
(#3 (permalink))
Old
jamchan (Offline)
New to JF

10-16-2011, 11:55 PM

I have looked into the Heisig method before. But the thing is, I want to be able to read and write the kanji from the words I learn in the vocabulary. That wouldn't work with the Heisig method.

Thanks for your input :3!
(#4 (permalink))
Old
TBox (Offline)
JF Regular

10-16-2011, 11:55 PM

I'd like to recommend anki. Anki - friendly, intelligent flashcards

It's a flash card program. It's free and it has a whole bunch of decks with Japanese vocabulary.