JapanForum.com

JapanForum.com (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/)
-   Japanese Language Help (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-language-help/)
-   -   Help with Learning Japanese? (http://www.japanforum.com/forum/japanese-language-help/42806-help-learning-japanese.html)

tiger21 01-25-2012 05:54 PM

Help with Learning Japanese?

For years, I have been interested in learning Japanese as a side project. Currently, I am a Graphic Design student, but I have a lot of free time on my hands and I would love to use that time to learn a new language. Unfortunately, after beginning my research a few months ago, I quickly became frustrated.

At the beginning of my endeavors, I purchased Human Japanese as an introductory course in Japanese. I was pleasantly surprised. However, it was fairly obvious that Human Japanese would not bring me anywhere near being fluent in the language, but I knew this from the start. I was okay with that. With that in mind, I was willing to make a major purchase of another program to learn more. After reading page after after of reviews of programs such as Pimsleur, Rosetta Stone, JapanesePod101, etc., the frustration began.

I read mostly about Pimsleur. I was told by countless sources that Pimsleur was the most effective way to learn a new language. However, just before making the purchase of the Pimsleur program, I ran into a number of reviews that said otherwise. I was informed that while Pimsleur teaches Japanese, it simply is not enough to hold a long "normal" conversation in Japanese and that it's only "polite" Japanese. Is this true?