JapanForum.com  

LinkBack Thread Tools
(#1 (permalink))
Old
IhrTodeswunsch (Offline)
New to JF

Send a message via MSN to IhrTodeswunsch Send a message via Yahoo to IhrTodeswunsch
Pronouns - 08-08-2007, 03:53 AM

I'm am completely confused on this... I just started learning Japanese, and I was reading on it, and it said that Japanese was a Pro-drop Language. Ok, great! I'm watching Animes (not learning from it, using little of what I know to it) and they say things like "suki" for love. When one says "I love you" They leave out the "I" and the "you". Same thing with like, baka da. Ok well, who are you talking about, my mom? It's so confusing to me. If somebody could explain it to me, that'd be greatly appriciated.
(#2 (permalink))
Old
MMM (Offline)
JF Ossan

08-08-2007, 05:12 AM

I'll explain really simply, and then maybe if you apply what I say to the anime you watch it will start to make sense.

First of all, congrats on entering the world of Japanese language study. You will hit a series of plateaus where things don't make sense. This is one of them. I hope I can help you through it a little.

It's hard to study a language like Japanese without the context of Japanese culture.

Japanese culture, and language is one of subtle direction. This means that communication is made like throwing a paper airplane, not shooting a gun. The experienced Japanese listener can tell where the speaker meant for the paper airplane to land, even if it landed in a completely different place. (meaning even if the actual words are different than the meaning.) In English we say exactly what we mean, and put all responsibility on the speaker to get the message accross. In Japanese it is 50-50.

Whether that helps or not, it's a good thing to remember.

So in Japanese, things that don't need to be spoken are left out.

So in English we are very clear. I love you. No mistakes about who is talking to who.